Preparing for the baby!

In less than a month, we will be graced with baby Jojo.  There seems to still be so much to do and so much to anticipate.  Hubz and I had finally finished setting up the crib and mobile last weekend, and our goal for this weekend is to install the car seat base.  The hospital bag is almost finished being packed, and the baby’s room is almost finished being stocked with supplies that we might need.  

We also started our diaper stash.  While I know many people do not agree with stocking up on diapers since it is possible that the baby might be sensitive or not agreeable to the diapers that we buy for her, the frugalista in me cannot bear the thought of paying 30 – 50 cents a diaper by buying them as needed.  I did not buy many newborn diapers since we don’t know how big Jojo will come out and it is possible that she might not need that many before jumping to size one.  My coworker who had his baby last month told me they had gone through over 150 newborn diapers before moving to size 1.  I do have a healthy stockpile of size 1’s lined up but I figured we will need to buy newborn sizes as needed.  

I have been visiting various big box retailers getting price comparisons for diapers and I will share my findings soon.  I found it useful to see how much diapers cost at regular price so that way I can see what is a good price for the diapers I am looking at buying.  I am sure other moms will find this information useful as well, while I am located in New York City, most of my shopping is online since it is not as convenient for me to move around a lot now and nothing beats having everything brought to the house by the delivery man!

Leave a comment